What Can I Do?

Gun violence is so rampant in our society that we almost don’t even blink an eye to it anymore. It’s part of the reason I no longer watch the news. I can’t go on after the events of 12/14/12 as though nothing significant has changed in me. If I don’t do something, I’m part of the problem. Thing is, I don’t know what to do. How do I help to fix the problem? I feel stuck. I have to go on with my life. I have to go to work tomorrow. Just because I’ve been internally changed doesn’t mean the world has changed with me. I still have bills. I still have personal goals that I need to accomplish that are strictly about me and not the world.

But there must be a way for me to give of myself. My vision is limited right now, so that I can’t see what I can do. That’s temporary. I need to brainstorm. How can I help fix us?

I wrote for a few hours last night. Working on the follow up to COASM. It was my escape from the horror of the world.

I can’t forget this feeling of obligation to the world. I can’t forget those babies and my obligation as an adult to help protect children.

I have been changed.

Leave a Reply

