How was my family freed from slavery?

I’m completely curious to know how my family got their freedom. My family is from South Carolina. Before that, they were African. That’s another thing I’d like to know; what part of Africa. But how were they freed? Was it due to the Emancipation Proclamation? Or did any of my ancestors buy their way out of slavery? I know how we got to New York. My grandmother moved to Harlem from Georgetown. Then she sent for her sisters. But what happened between slavery and then? Before her birth. My family had money in SC. My grandmother grew up with a maid. The money was not made legally. But it was made. My great-grandfather was a bootlegger. What was before my great-grandparents? How did my family get their freedom? And when.

Leave a Reply

