Chasing Dreams: One Year Anniversary

This is where I love to write.  It's a Greek restaurant at the intersection of West 4th St, Cornelia St and 6th Ave.  The waitresses are AWESOME and let me sit there for hours. If you go, tip them well! They deserve it.
This is where I love to write. It’s a Greek restaurant at the intersection of West 4th St, Cornelia St and 6th Ave. The waitresses are AWESOME and let me sit there for hours. If you go, tip them well! They deserve it.

So, a year ago today I quit my evil corporate job so I could move back to my hometown and pursue my passion. During the past 365 days I have experienced heartache, disappointment, a lot of stupidity, debilitating laziness and shyness (a horrible combination), a few bad money decisions, three different living arrangements, and some drunken nights that ended in vomiting, and all day hangovers. And I have loved every minute of it! Not as the things have happened, mind you. But in retrospect, it’s been an awesome ride.

I haven’t been writing nearly as much as I had expected. I’ve been caught up in my 9-5 more than I would have wanted. But I’m here! I’m on my way. I have a feeling of desperation to fulfill my dreams that cannot be simmered.

It’s taken me a year to acclimate to living in NY. I’ll be honest, this winter has been damn near incapacitating for me. I used to love winter in NY. I remember when I first started college in LA, people would say NY was cold and I was like, “No it’s not. Maybe upstate it’s cold, but not in the city.” I was so used to it, not knowing anything else, that it really didn’t seem cold to me. Not cold enough to call it a cold place. I’m of a whole different mindset now. NYC IS COLD AS FUCK! This winter I haven’t done anything but go to work. I literally cannot move unless absolutely necessary in this cold ass, twenty degree weather. On the weekends I hibernate. I’ve been sick several times. It’s getting annoying actually. Annoying I say!

BUT, I’m still glad I’m here. Just waiting for spring to kick in so I can move around. I have a lot of plans. This time next year I plan to have a minimum of two more books published. I have other writing plans, but those two books are what I’m concrete about.

So, onto the next chapter of this journey. I am so looking forward to what the next year will bring. I wonder what I’ll be typing in this blog on 3/18/15. I have a pretty good idea, but I’m curious about the events that will transpire on the way there.

See you on the flipside!

Peace.

Leave a Reply

