Canada Helps Detroit Get Water

from performanceplastics.caI just read some articles saying that Canada has stepped in to help Detroit’s water crisis, by shipping water to the Motor City.  WHAT?  How can the politicians in this country possibly feel good about themselves, when Americans are getting aid from Canada?  That they have allowed money to dictate so much of our society that one of the richest countries in the world has gridlocked itself into needing aid.  They ought to feel ashamed.

bing imagesAccording to the Detroit Free Press, there may have been concerns about water contamination and bioterrorism that could have stopped the delivery. But, I am hard pressed to believe that the same politicians who would allow their citizens to go thirsty are really concerned about their health.

I am sure this put politicians in an uncomfortable position.   Do they allow the water to come in and help all of the people they have deprived of it?  Or do they stop Canada from aiding the US citizens that they have turned their backs on?  Detroit is not that far from Canada, so it makes sense that they would want to help.  From what I have read on BloombergBusinessWeek.com the shipment arrived in Detroit yesterday.  So, Canada has done what Detroit politicians are not willing to do; help US citizens.

water shut off DetroitWhat I also find shameful is that it is Canada, and not another US state, or even city in Michigan, who decided to help Detroit.  How telling is that about our division as a country?   We (meaning, we the people, and the politicians we have chosen to represent us) should always aim to help our fellow countrymen.  Not just when there is an act of terrorism, but anytime something is wrong.  Unless it is due to natural causes beyond our control, no American should be in the position of not having water.  We are human.  With or without money we all need water.  It’s not a privilege.  It’s not even something that should have a bill attached to it, but that’s a topic for another blog.

 

Detroit Water Brigade vocative.comI do not excuse myself of blame here.  I should participate more in taking our government to task.  It has been a while since I have called my senator’s office to voice my opinion.  I am tired of feeling helpless when I see things like this happening.   I recognize that I need to be the change that I want for our country. Voting and paying taxes are not my only responsibilities as a citizen. I sign lots of petitions, but it is also so much more than that.  My ancestors did not go through what they did, so that I could be a lazy activist.

Overall America, we need to do better.

 

Leave a Reply

