Trailer & Interview for New Chris Rock Movie: Top Five

Chris Rock’s new movie Top Five, is due out December 2014. It’s the story of a comedian coming to terms with the world as it is now. Not coming to terms has made him not funny. Part of which is accepting that, though, we are not in a post-racial America (I actually don’t even believe that’s a thing. Maybe the term should be post-racist. In either case we aren’t in either), things are way better than they have been for my parent’s generation in many respects. Though definitely not all. Racism is still alive and well.

kanye-jay-chris-rock-608x427

I have gotten a few cabs in Manhattan. I’m always surprised when it happens. That’s something that was almost an impossible feat just ten years ago. But then you still have incidents like in Staten Island and Ferguson. So, socially, amongst citizens things may be improving. But institutionally, not nearly enough progress has been made.

Not recognizing some of the social change can make comedians sound dated. That goes beyond racism. That is about artists recognizing the world they are actually in, not the one in their heads.

th3Q7KIVFB

I have got to see this movie! I love Chris Rock, so just seeing his name as the headliner made me want to go. But I am comforted by the fact that two of my top three MCs are in his top five. He left out KRS ONE, but I’ll forgive him for that.

Top Five stars, Gabrielle Union, Rosario Dawson, Cedric the Entertainer, Kevin Hart, JB Smoove, and Tracy Morgan.

Leave a Reply

