My MCM – Common

thV35CWCDMCommon is just all around dope. His lyrical prowess makes him one of my favorite hip hop artists. He was the first Chicago rapper that I’d ever encountered, when his “Soul by the Pound” video debuted on Video Music Box.

Of course he was Common Sense back then. He had Q-tip, Grand Puba and Red Man infused in the hook, which is what made me pay attention to the song in the first place. I enjoyed the beat, thought he was cute, but honestly, I was a NYC snob at the time, so I wasn’t really checking for him. That was in ‘92.

thBMW2MJI2 (2)Then, “I Used to Love H.E.R.” came out and killed it! That song is amazing! Lyrically it was so well put together, the whole concept was ill, and I love the video. That’s when I became a fan.

Common has gone on to become one of the most important figures in hip hop. I appreciate that he’s not afraid to take chances with his music. He’s a true artist.

th (2)He’s a conscious brother which is always a plus. He seems to just be an all-around good human being.

th6MLG4OBO

I freaking loved that he didn’t back down when Cube came at him, and he hit back with “The Bitch in Yoo”

And to top it all off, he is so fine. OMG! That is a gorgeous man.

commonThat is why he is my MCM.

Thanks for reading!

Peace.

Leave a Reply

