Review: Chris Rock’s “Top Five”

thZGKD46E7Two of my favorite things in the world are comedy and hip hop. Add a non-cheesy love story, black consciousness and social commentary to the mix, and you have Chris Rock’s outstandingly, wonderful film Top Five. I can’t say enough good things about this movie. I want to see it again! As soon as it’s available I’m buying it.

thCM48VEG9It had some great surprises, and at this stage in my movie-watching-life it is hard to surprise me. It had loads of cameos too by people who I love. Some whom Hollywood often overlooks. I don’t even want to give any spoilers. It’s so good, I just want you to go see it and find out for yourself! This may be the first movie that I’ve ever felt that away about, where I don’t want to give anything away. I will say this; DMX had me literally crying laughing.

I haven’t been so affected by a movie in years. It made me want to become a better writer. It was so real and true and earnest.

Top-5-Trailer-611x341This is one of those movies that I’m glad I experienced in the theater, with my popcorn and people around me who seemed to enjoy it as much as I did. People in the audience were agreeing, loudly, whenever someone on screen listed their top five. As any hip hop head knows, your top five is a major definition of who you are. I just love the fact that Chris Rock knows that, and that he chose to use that as the movie title.

Might I add, JB Smoove had a great role. He shined. Rosario Dawson is one of my favorite actresses and I just adored her in this movie.

Top Five gets five of five stars.

In case you care to know, my top five are:

2011-topic-rakim thBQ1QAW64 th5859QPH7 th6QV0KJ0Uth0VZC4JC9

My sixth men are:

thVVRW8ORR th0W3M3AMWthNZ6UYQ3FI know there’s only one sixth man, but my team is special.

The order of the players are subject to change, depending on my mood–except for my top three. They are always in the top three.

Who are your top five?

Thank you for reading!

Peace.

Leave a Reply

